Hogs down Tennessee for first SEC Tournament title

Now Dave Van Horn can focus on what has been the primary goal for Arkansas all season and that’s the first national championship in history.

The Razorbacks picked up their first SEC Tournament title with a 7-2 win over Tennessee on Sunday afternoon that followed a customary pattern.

Jaxon Wiggins started on the mound and survived 3.2 innings, then the Hogs’ bats got going, Kevin Kopps came into the game in the seventh and it was over.

Wiggins scattered four hits and Tennessee got a run across in the first inning when Drew Gilbert singled through the right side of the infield to score Jake Rucker and have a 1-0 lead that held up until the fifth.

A pair of RBI singles from Jalen Battles and Zack Gregory combined with a sacrifice fly from ¬†Matt Goodheart gave the Hogs a 3-1 lead but they weren’t done.

Battles homered in the seventh and in the eighth, Robert Moore delivered an RBI single that was followed by Cullen Smith’s two-run homer.

With Kopps already on the mound that was more than the usual cushion he deals with coming into games.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here